If you can dodge a block, you can dodge a ball…

So there’s already an Anytime Fitness, but I really think there should be an Anything Fitness. I wrote in a previous post that you can make any sort of fitness a game whether it’s by playing with a deck of cards, a dice, a coin, etc. You can check out that post here…https://millennialsurvivalblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/18/how-to-make-fitness-a-game/

This time, we got a little creative! It couldn’t have gone any better!

As a coach, you have to make sure that your girls/boys have been warmed up properly before assigning them complicated dangerous skills.The problem is…it’s been almost a 100 degrees F in Minnesota the past few days and making them run 20 killers just horrifies me. So how can we get them warmed up without putting them at risk for heat exhaustion? We played a little game. It got their bodies moving and made it fun. I mean let’s be real, I was playing along with them and I was beat after about 5 minutes. I forgot how exhausting gym glass games could be.

Since I work in a gymnastics studio, we had about a million **exaggeration** foam pit blocks at our disposal. We set up mats to hide behind (I think I found a way to trip over every single one) and picked teams. The teams were the BEST part of the whole game. I believe we had 5 teams in the gym ready to warm up when 4:30 rolled around, so I invited everyone to partake. It surprised me how well these girls worked together as one team when they don’t normally practice together or know each others names. We had girls ranging from 1st or 2nd grade all the way to High School working and laughing together.

I glanced at my fitness watch after the game and I had logged about 2,000 steps in about 10 minutes. Normally it would take at LEAST a jog around my suburban block to get this many steps, and that’s WAY less fun. I mean look at the photos (photo cred to awesome co-coach Maddie 😉 ) Every single one has a giant grin on their face!

IMG_8246

This is how easy it can be to get a workout in! ESPECIALLY if you have kids. We have other games that we play like Cat and Mouse, Fox in the Hen House, Crab Soccer, etc. I may write about those another time.


If you have any questions, comments, concerns, compliments, please contact me on the contact page. Subscribe for more healthy living motivation (you don’t need a wordpress account), and go ahead and ‘Like’ away!

For yesterday’s “Soda or Pop? Doesn’t Matter. Still Deadly.” post click below…

Soda or Pop? Doesn’t matter. Still Deadly.

 

5 thoughts on “If you can dodge a block, you can dodge a ball…

  1. Stewart Nicholas says:

    First let me say thanks for checking out my blog today; and for taking the time to comment on it, it gave me the opportunity to explore the work you’re doing here :-).

    I really enjoyed this post and look forward to more in the future.

    Working with kids is an awesome experience! About a year ago I had the opportunity to share one of my passions (taekwondo) with a group of preschoolers at our local Head Start Center. It was a deeply fulfilling opportunity.

    Like

    • bberns27 says:

      Thank you so much for subscribing and for your comment reply on your post. I LOVE coaching children and watching them get excited about being healthy from a young age. It’s so rewarding!

      Like

Leave a comment